has technology made children less creative than they were in the past

Having a glimpse of the world, we will be marveled at the variety of facilities of entertainment. Without a doubt, with the increasing development of technology, a considerable number of new inventions were brought to this ever-advanced society, such as mobile phones, computers as well as Internet and virtual reality devices, and therefore, they became an integral part of people’s life. In recent years, a controversial proposal was brought to public eyes, suggesting that technology made children less creative than they were in the past. This seems reasonable in some aspects. However, from my point of view, I strongly disagree with this view.

To begin with, technology plays an important role in child education, which positive affects the creativity of children in that technology provides them a way to get information. To illustrate, humans can benefit from technology from all spheres of their lives. For instance, computers are widely used in school in order to access to information easily, which gives children an opportunity to learn from the global issues and think about the possible solution. Besides, with the help of computer, students are able to learn the first-handed material on Wikipedia in every areas such as chemistry, physics and biology. As a result, they can be more creative than they were in the past with so much crucial information for study. For instance, my friend, Mike, is a physics PhD in Peking University. He considers computer as the most important thing while he is doing research for the reason that he has to look for papers and researches online.

Furthermore, technology opened the door to online education, which provide children an opportunity to improve their overall quality and broaden their horizon. Children can apply and learn in any university that has an online program being thousands of miles away from campus in condition they have internet connection. Without a doubt, online education makes study more convenient and cheaper, and therefore, children can learn about advanced technology and new study found at home. For example. When I was in high school, I participated in an online program provided by MIT. What I learned through the program helped me a lot in my research career.

Admittedly, although we has testified to the value of technology, it does not mean technology always do well to children. As a matter of fact, many children nowadays are addicted to video games, e-books and funny videos on YouTube. As a result, they do not study much and get bad grades in tests. Therefore, even though we enjoy the many benefits technology brought to us, we should also control ourselves at the same time.

To conclude, concerning all the details mentioned above, there is every reason to believe that technology made children more creative than they were in the past.