Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having glimpse of the world, we will be marveled at the variety of news resources from which we can get information all over the world. Evidently, as Internet become prevailing in the contemporary society, new resources become part of people’s daily life, including traditional media, news website and news app on the mobile phones. Recently, a controversial proposal was brought to public eye, suggesting that in order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. This standpoint may contains some truth. However, from my point of view, I disagree with the statement.

To begin with, too many news resources will affect the ability to tell the truth. To illustrate, news television programs tend to report news in a way that benefits the television station most. Therefore, reporters are likely to hide some truth and tell audiences only the beneficial facts. As a result, different news resources would report a same news in different ways, which is confusing for most of the audiences. For instance, the government of Republic of China planned to enact a law to raise welfare by raising tax three years ago. However, some news programs only tell the benefits of welfare, while other news programs only report the negative effects of raising tax. None of them covered the news in a reasonable way. Evidently, people would get confused by accessing to so many news resources.

Furthermore, it is not applicable to keep informed by many different news resources in that getting information takes much time, and a person hardly have enough time for many different news resources. Generally, work and sleep takes much of one’s daily life, and the time spent on getting information is limited while the means of getting information, such as watching TV or browsing on the Internet, is time wasting. For instance, there are five news app on my phone, and I have subscribed three newspaper. However, only one hour spared for me to read news, as I have to take class. Therefore, I cannot read them thoroughly.

In fact, one news resource is enough to keep a person informed. With the help of Google, the only thing we need to do is to type several keywords, and we can find any news from anywhere we want within just a second. From diseases in Africa to innovation in America, there is so much information that we can keep us informed on the Internet.

To conclude, too many news resources would indeed make us busy handling fake news and other bothersome drawbacks. In considering all the details mentioned above, there is every reason to believe that in order to be well-informed, a person should not get information from many different news resources.