Is it a good idea to keep a pet such as a dog or a cat? What can you benefit from such an experience?

In today's world, there is a heating debate about whether animals should be kept outside of their habitats or not. In this regard, in my opinion, it is not a good idea for individuals to keep animals as pets in their houses, and I have two main reasons on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First, all animals have better living conditions if they are in their natural habitat, which means keeping them in our houses as pets annoys them. Scientists have shown that all species prefer to have their normal life in the habitats in which they are beside their parents and other peers. In this way, they can easily find their mates and reproduce, and as a result, they will have a more enjoyable life and not be extincted easily. My personal example clarifies this. When I was 13, my parents bought me a puppy for my birthday. I got really happy at first, but after a while, I understood that it was acting unusual. So I decided to bring it back to its home, and see if anything would change. At the end when we returned it to its family and brought it to its natural habitat, the dog behavior completely changed, and made a lot of noise, and jumped up and down, indicating that it was very happy in the new situation.

Second, having lived along these pets, people will be attached to them, and this will lead to an increase of the average age of people in a country. In fact, there are lots of families that tend to have pets instead of babies. This is because keeping pets cost much less than having babies since parents have to send their children to school, then maybe to college, and also save some money for them to help them marry or own a house in the future. As a result, people are losing their tendacy to having children, and on the other hand, they are getting attached to their pets more and more. It is heard from many countries in the world that their population is getting older since parents do not feel a requirement to have babies anymore. This definitely would not have happened if people had not experienced living with pets.

Finally, I thing keeping pets in our homes is a good idea because in this way, the animals kept in houses will be annoyed, and also it will cause people to not try to have babies anymore, resulting in a population decline.