It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

It has been said, “Not everything that is learned in contained in books.”. In my Opinion, Knowledge gained from experience and actions are burned into the individual mind. The individual understands the gained knowledge very well and rarely forgets it. In contrast, learning from books is beneficial but not as much as learning from experience.

Learning from experiences and actions can be fun and interesting. For example, when I was at university studying computer science, I did not study for computer programming course due to the fact that it was full fun and interesting labs. On the other hand, learning from books can be boring and require considerable amount of concentration. For example, Algebra course was a tough one. I had to study weeks in advance.

Learning in practical labs is beneficial but it takes a considerable amount of time. The amount of knowledge that can be taught in a practical lab is way less than the amount gained from reading a book or listening to the teacher. For example, in a practical chemistry lab the students were taught about combustion, This lab took three hours to complete. The same amount of time can be used to read about three different subjects.

Not everything can be learned from experiences, there are some subjects that cannot be taught in a lab. For example, philosophy is an important subject, it enriches the individual mind and teaches self-control. However, it cannot be taught in labs. If we opt to teach everything in a lab setting similar to chemistry or physics labs, then we would be able to teach theoretical subjects such as philosophy.

To conclude, although it fun and interesting to learn from experience, you have to combine both ways in order to gain an effective knowledge, Learning from books and teachers, and learning from experiences and actions.