Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

People often argues what is of highest importance, History and literature or science and technology. I believe that science and technology are most important due to the fact that they contribute to solving many of life critical problems and issues. On the other hand, literature and history acts as supporting pillars to science and mathematics.

Science and technology have always been the factor that differentiate the strong form the weak. Having more people involved in science will contribute to the technological advancement of the nation. Science also teaches people rational thinking, imagine if all the key figures in the nation were respected scientists. Many of the annoying issues citizens faces would have been solved if scientists were involved in these issues. Now imagine what they would do if they were involved in critical and major issues of the nation, the sky is indeed the limit.

I think of literature as a form of entertainment. It can be beneficial when there is a need to relief the pressure put on people. Without entertainment people could suffer from depression which could lead to loss of productivity. What I am implying is entertainment in general is essential to the success of the nation but not as important as science.

Knowledge of historical events and records can be useful. If historians did not cite and record the events that happened in their time, then we would not know of the mistakes made by our predecessors. Knowing their mistakes and learning not to repeat them is also essential to the success of the nation.

To conclude, all these fields mentioned in the question are important to the advancement of the humanity. In my opinion, science and technology is the most important field. It is what pushes the humanity forward while other fields such as history and literature acts as supporters and frequently influence the way science and technology is advanced.