It is important to have rules about the kind of clothing people should wear to go to work and school.
People often possess different perspectives on whether it is important to have rules about
clothes at work and school. As for me, I strongly argue that it is indeed important to have
rules about clothes which people wear to work and school.
First of all, safety is the primary concern for schools and companies, and having rules on
clothes can bring safety. For example, when strangers stroll leisurely on the campus, they
would be immediately recognized because they are not wearing any uniform. As a result,
people can be more cautious around them. In addition, researchers working in high tech
buildings can easily tell guests apart from colleagues by identifying the white lab coat
required for all employees. As a result, they can protect themselves from unknown danger
through simple rules of clothes.
Secondly, students are expected to concentrate, but they might be seriously distracted
without specific rules about appropriate clothes. For instance, when I was in high school,
people wore whatever they please to school. Girls often wore mini skirts which hardly
covered their butts. Consequently, in class, I often found myself stealing a glance at them
every now and then while I should be paying attention to the blackboard. I couldn’t even
focus on my own thoughts, not to mention take notes in class. Apparently, establishing
rules about clothes is significant for concentration.
Last but not least, reputation is surely essential to companies, and establishing certain
rules about clothes can successfully boost the reputation. Take a clinic for example. If the
nurses all wore pink dresses with matching hats, patients would regard them as warm,
friendly people who are always ready to lend a hand. On the other hand, when there is no
specific regulation on clothes, some nurses might wear black blouse with a pair of black
trousers to work. In this case, the patient might feel a bit afraid of the nurse, perhaps even
being somewhat intimidated by her. Evidently, it is important for companies to establish
rules for the sake of higher reputation.
To conclude, I maintain that rules on suitable clothes are definitely necessary for
workplaces and schools. After all, they can help bring about higher safety, better
concentration and enhanced reputation.