It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Some people think that having the internet and improving it would be highly advantageous as one could access different platforms and do many remote tasks in the comfort of home. However, I have a very strong opinion that improving public transportation is beneficial to everyone. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the below essay.

To begin with, spending money to enhance public transportation is crucial as it would help many professionals to have a safe and comfortable commute to their work. My spouse's personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. For the past 7 years, my husband who commutes every day to his office in New York spends almost four hours on the train standing, as he has no place to sit along with many others. As a result, he has developed a major health issue corresponding to his backbone. Only when the government has added more trains for the route, my husband had a comfortable journey which also helped him with his health issue. In contrast, if only technology was improved many others along with my husband would still be suffering. Improving public transportation would help many working individuals to get to their work with fresh minds rather than being tired.

Secondly, working on developing public transportation will help people to have a better social life. For instance, in my case when I was doing my graduation two years back, our family used to live in a remote place that is close to my father's industry. I could meet up with my friends from the college and hang out with them as we had access to the public bus service, with which a bus to the city arrived right in front of our residency. However, with just the Internet being available with no public transportation, I would have just talked to my friends in voice and video calls rather than meet up with them on a regular basis to have fun. Better public transportation significantly helps students and many others visit and socialize with friends and family.

In conclusion, I believe strongly that money spent on the upgrade of public transportation is significant for the above-stated reasons.