Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to read books about real events than it is for them to read novels.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students are recommended to read books in their leisure times. Some parents and teachers believe that reading books about real events is more important than reading novels. They believe that reading real events increases the students’ knowledge. However, when I think so carefully, I find it is not correct to consider the books about real events more important than novels. I believe reading novels has some advantages for students.

First, reading novels is a good practice to strengh writing skill. There are many intresting and poetic sentences in novels. Also novels usually contain beautiful descriptive statements about life, love, nature and so on. As a result reading novels is very usefull for students intrested in writing and poetry. When I was fifteen I read some famous novels in my leisure times. I learned a lot of litrature points from these books, such as idioms, proverbs and new words. Once I read a new word or beautiful proverb, I wrote it in a notebook. It was really benefitial for me not only in writing skill but also in speaking and presentation skills.

Second, reading novels helps students learn important lessons about life. The auther of a novel usually portrais the main concepts of life in his/her story. The auther tries to teach how to forgive and fight for independent, love and better life. Some novels have some degree of realism and are about the people who fell in love at an early age and got married. These novels are maily about the mistakes and failures in love and life. By reading these novels, students become aware of potential problems of love and early marriage.

In summary, I believe reading novels can increase students’ knowladge too. Students can learn many things from novels. They can improve their writing skill by reading novels. Moreover, they learn important lessons about life such as possible problems of early marriage. In short, the lessons from novels are usefull for students in their life.