Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to read books about real events than it is for them to read novels.

Students are recommended to read books in their leisure time. Some parents and teachers believe that reading books about real events is more beneficial than reading novels. They believe that reading real events increases the students' knowledge. Moreover, they think that reading novels is just wast of time because novels are usually written based on writter's imaginations. However, upon careful consideration of the issue, I come to the conclusion that it is not logical to consider books about real events more important than novels. I think ( in my opinion ) reading novels has some advantages for students.

First, reading novels can help strengthen students' writing skill. There are many intresting and poetic sentences in novels. Also novels usually contain well- written descriptive statements about life, love, nature and so on. Thus, reading novels is very useful for students intrested in writing and poetry. When I was fifteen, I read some famous novels in my leisure time. Whenever I read a new word or a nice proverb, I wrote it in a notebook. This practice was really beneficial for me in terms of improving not only writing skill but also speaking and presentation skills. Sometimes I use an appropriate idiom in a suitable occasion. By this way, I impress my audience and indicate them my strong presentation skill. If it were not because of reading novels, I would not have such a good speaking skill.

Second, by reading novels, students learn important lessons about reality of life. Novel writers ( Writers of novels ) usually portrait the main conncepts of life in their stories. They try to teach issues like how to forgive, how to fight for independence, love, better life, etc. Some novels have some degrees of realism and are about people who have gotten married at an early age. Infact, writters of novels intend to inform their readers about some facts of life by an effective and intresting way. So, reading such novels can help students become aware of the potential problems involved in love and an early marriage.

In summary, in my opinion, it is not logical to consider reading books about real events more important than reading novels. Students can learn many things by reading novels. They can improve their writing skill by reading novels. Moreover, they learn main and basic cancepts of life such as possible problems of early marriage. In short, lessons students learn from novels can help prepare them deal with the reality of life.