It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

Does students require to understand ideas and concepts? And is it more important than learning facts? I completely agree with the statement that students should understand the concepts than just learning facts.

First of all, lets consider the students of the history class. If all the students learn just facts about an historical events then they would not know why that particular event is important in history. For example, what were the main causes of nuclear bombing on Nagasaki and Hiroshima in World War 2 by the United States. As we know, these bombing was a result of the attack on the US's Pearl harbor by Japanese. Therefore, The students must learn about the political situations and war conditions to get better understanding of history.

Furthermore, the students of electrical or computing, must learn the application of what they are learning. If they just learn facts about their subjects and do not have the conceptual idea then they may not be able to apply these very concepts to real life applications. Similarly in other subjects like, arts, environmental studies, literature, space science, etc conceptual knowledge is must as 'just facts' will not help when it comes to their applications.

However, it is true that the students are required to learn facts as well. Consider, for example, the chemistry students need to remember facts about the elements from periodic table before learning how their compounds are made and their chemical applications. Though, the students must require conceptual knowledge as well because it is the primary thing that actually requires in implementations of their learning.

In conclusion, it is very clear that learning concepts and ideas is more important aspect to any students than learning just facts. Thus, to get better understanding about any subject, the students should learn concepts, facts and their application in real life.