A job with more vacation time

In a culture where the realms of knowledge are expanding and because as a modern society we seem to so busy, finding a good job to cope with today’s life is one of the great challenges in recent years; a job by which we could be able to fulfill all of our needs. Even though a job with a high salary seems a great option, it doesn’t work all that well. In my view, there are many factors contributing to finding a job and having more time to ourselves is a major factor. Consequently, a job with more vacation time seems a great idea to get involved with. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

Certainly, in trying to explain the outcomes of a job with more vacation time one would have to place great emphasis on enough sleep that we can get. As studies have shown, we should spend one-third of our lives sleeping, ranging from 8 hours a day to 14hours, for example, 7-8 hours per day during adulthood and12-14 hours per day during infancy. The type of sleep most associated with learning, memory consolidation, and emotional processing. Unfortunately, we all are obsessed with working to earn more money and we are ill-equipped to recognize the impacts of sleep deprivation. Studies have indicated that many people are suffering from sleep deprivation and it could lead to mental health problems. The consequences of this epidemic go well beyond that, sadly contributing to depression, suicide, substance use, and the like. As a result, people should give more prominence to sleeping in order to reduce the consequences of this epidemic.

On top of that, it would be significant to adduce that we should give a high priority to life satisfaction. Since satisfaction and relationships are so closely linked together, when we communicate with people more, we are much more satisfied with our lives. As a research has shown, the more relationships we have, the more satisfied people we are. Of importance is the fact that not only could more relationships boost our life satisfaction, it also could foster our longevity, as Susan Pinker and her colleagues have shown. A job with less vacation time places a heavy demand on our time. This is the time that could be spent on family, friends, and relaxing in other ways. It’s worth noting, connection is one of the basic human needs we all have and it will never be fulfilled with spending time on the job. Not to mention, only rarely can we find any human being that experienced life satisfaction because exaggeration is used at the expanse of productivity.

Taking all aforementioned arguments into account leads me to believe that in an age when there is/are abundant opportunities to find a good job, it is vital to everyone to provide as much information as possible to weigh up the pros and cons of every job, which really is paramount to devising an effective solution so as to find a job that well suits us and have a safer, healthier lifestyle. Although many people will argue that there are tremendous benefits to having a job with high salary and they are thinking to themselves “we are doing good”, they are barely passing. Spending time on ourselves increases life satisfaction twice as much as wealth. The more materialistic people are, the less satisfied they are with their lives. Advocates of jobs with more vacation time and research in this area have produced tremendous science showing the tremendous benefits of a job with more vacation time. My personal argument as a sovereign human being for this is that the benefits of a job with more vacation time outweigh the costs and that spending more time on living rather than on working should be at the forefront of every person’s mind. We get one life to live and it’s up to us to make the most of it. We shouldn’t waste it on working and we could spend it with people who are meaningful to us.