tpo

In a culture where the realms of knowledge are expanding and because we are surrounded by many tools affecting our lives, it is vital to everyone to provide as much information as possible to weigh up the pros of cons of everything. In my view, even though computer games have much to offer and without a doubt are great innovations, when it comes to relying on it far and wide, it can affect children's life negatively and they should not be allowed to play them, based on some reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into some of them.

Certainly, in trying to explain the factors affecting children's lives one would have to place great emphasis on sleep deprivation. Today, young generations spend, on average, 9 hours a day in front of TV or computer. As research has shown, they need to sleep 10 hours per day but they are suffering from sleep deprivation because they are obsessed with technological tools. Moreover, what is alarming here is that nowadays many games include the depiction of sex, violent, drug, and so on, which is so harmful to their lives.

On top of that, another factor to consider is depression. There is accumulating evidence indicating that many people are experiencing depression at an earlier age more than ever before because of technology. Our environments are filled with examples of people who are suffering from depression. Not to mention, children need to play game with their friends in a real world. But unfortunately, they waste much of their times on playing computer games and it has negative impacts on their thoughts, behaviors, and in general their lives. What is more, it has destroyed communication among children and they are deprived of the natural relationship. It is worth noting, connection is one of the basic human needs we all have and it will never be fulfilled with playing computer games or technological devices.

To the naysayers who are thinking to themselves " playing computer games is not a waste of time and it could affect children's lives positively as they can learn many new things easily.", but they are wrong. Although there are exceptions to this rule, they are few and far between. I think the costs of computer games outweigh the benefits and it is like a double-edged sword. The consequences go well beyond that, contributing to many areas of their lives, they are not embraced due to the dearth of time.

Now, taking all aforementioned arguments into account along with evidence that underpins them prompted me to believe that parents should not allow children to play computer games.