is learning by doing better than learning by reading?

Learning was one of the most mysterious things related to humans till some years ago. Even still, scientists are not completely sure about the process of learning and how we can learn better. Nowadays some people like to learn by reading about the topic; while, others prefer to learn by doing. In my view, learning by doing in better and leads to deeper and better learning for two reasons. Here is my two reasons.

First, learning by doing helps you to stick information in your mind. Each time we learn something by doing it, we use all our five senses to keep learned information in our mind. Researches have proved that when we see something and touch it, we can keep its details and information in our mind better. For instance, Last year I joined a robotic group which their motto was “Learning by Doing”. It was not important for the team how much you know about coding, they believed if you do something by yourself and struggle with it for a while, you will learn more than the time you try to learn it by reading some books. When I joined this team, I knew almost nothing about coding; but after doing some projects, I could overcome my fear of coding and learn how to code.

Second, you can learn different aspect of the topic. If we try to learn everything by reading, we can learn just some limited aspects. There may be some aspects which the author of the book has ignored them. In this way, we will lose our chance to learn all aspects of the topic. On the other hand, when we try to learn something by doing it, we will definitely face to some problems and learn from them. This kind of learning cannot be happened if we just learn by reading. Last semester in chemistry course, I did not participate in class and decided to pass the exam just by reading a book. As the result, I had so many problems during studying the book; because, I had not done any practical experiments and could not understand what is the real purpose of the author.

To cut the long story short, all I want to say is that, learning by studying can sometimes be good. it can give us this chance to learn faster and provides so many sources which we can refer to them. In the other hand, learning by doing usually takes more time and if we do not have any supervisor we cannot be sure about the results we have got. But in my view, learning by doing is better, why so, it gives you this chance to really feel the topic you are learning. If you learn something by making some experiences about it, you will never ever forget them. That is why I believe learning by doing is better than learning by reading.