Loyalty is the most important quality in choosing a friend

There is no short of opinions on the most important quality of Friendship. It is a matter of perspective. For each and every person a relationship is different. How they see any relationship decides what do they want or what do they expect in the relationship. My opinion can be discrete from yours and the best part? We are both not wrong about it. I believe, Loyalty - even though a crucial factor in any kind of affinity, is not the most important quality. I believe- Truthfulness and Honesty are the qualities that make a strong base for relationships. Be that relationship is friendship, love, or parental. I will explain the reasons for holding this opinion in the subsequent paragraph:

First, Anything that is forced and not inherent does not last for a very long time. If being a friend of someone makes you more conscious about loyalty, then it is just an added pressure. Friendship, for me, is an state where you are not judged based on your actions. A space where you are free to be open about how and what you feel. With freedom comes the Honesty. I am not judged, then I will be truthful to my core. and if I dig in my life, I can see Honesty has always been the key of my relationships. I consider, my mother is my best friend. She never judges me and always gives the freedom to be honest to my self. I am not afraid to share anything about my life or give my honest opinion because of this freedom. She loves experimenting with food. When she prepares something new, she asks me to taste it and judge it. If I am so adamant on being loyal, I am not sure if I will share my honest opinion on that dish with her. The truthfulness is taking the front seat here.

Second, In a friendship, two individuals are involved. They learn from each other. They teach each other. For the sake of being loyal, if the other person is not making me realize what am I doing wrong then where is the growth in the relationship? My mother is unabashedly honest about my decisions and my actions. She sometimes does not take my side. She many a times opposes my decisions. Off cause, I feel betrayed at times. But, once the heat of the moment dissipates, I understand her view. It gives me another perspective of the situation. This has been a major reason why I always try to share my things with her and she is still my best friend.

I always believe that loyalty comes implicitly. You can not force it on someone. Forcing someone to show that "they are loyal" will only make them feel burdened in the friendship. When a person is free to share his/her side, free to call you out on your mistakes without the fear of being labeled as disloyal, then this honesty and truth will build an implicit loyalty. This loyalty will be invisible and stronger. So, in my opinion Honesty and Truthfulness is more important qualities than Loyalty.