In many companies, there is a mentoring system: senior workers in a company will be required to mentor younger workers, but in recent years, some companies have also required younger workers to mentor senior workers. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In some high-tech companies, especially after the companies have introduced new technology and equipment, it would be beneficial for the companies to require younger workers to mentor senior workers.

Some people think that senior workers should mentor younger workers in order to benefit their companies. However, I think that it would be beneficial for some high-tech companies to require younger workers to mentor senior workers, especially after the companies have introduced new technology and equipment. Therefore, I support my statement for following reasons.

First of all, companies care about efficiency, and requiring younger workers to mentor older workers about new equipment can help companies save more time. For example, when I was a young researcher in National Cheng Kung University, the university introduced a lot of instruments, such as ovens and gloves boxes, for research chemistry and I needed to teach senior workers how to use these machines. To elaborate, I only used 2 hours to teach all machines to older employees because I was really familiar with these new technology when I was a college student. Accordingly, senior workers learned very fast and operated them very well.

Secondly, companies place emphasis on future, and asking younger labors to teach senior workers how to use new technology can allow companies to obtain a brighter future. For instance, when my friend, David, was a young engineer at TSMC, he always used some new approaches, such as hot pressing, to improve the quality of wafers. Furthermore, he also shared his creative ideas for older workers to learn new technique. Consequently, the amount of high quality of wafers were fascinating and high demanding in global market. Nonetheless, if David never taught the new technique to older workers, TSMC might not be capable to produce good commodity for consumers. Obviously, the company might not earn more money.

Last but not least, companies focus on employees’ safety, and requiring younger workers to educate older workers can provide employees with more safety. For example, when I was a young research assistant at Academia Sinica, I was responsible to train senior workers to use new instruments. To be more specific, I needed to teach senior workers carefully because the instructions of these new instruments, such as dangerous cutting machine, were English and they cannot understand. Moreover, I also needed to monitor them to follow the regulation since some seniors usually break the operating rules that might be dangerous. As a result, all empolyees at Sinica would not hurt when they operated the new instruments.

In conclusion, I strongly support the statement that younger workers should mentor senior workers in the companies for benefits. After all, companies care about efficiency, future, and employees’ safety.