A university is considering establishing a new requirement for graduation in addition to its normal requirements about completing coursework: all students must attend a course on public speaking to develop skills that will be useful in speaking in front of large groups of people.

Do you agree or disagree that a public speaking course should be a requirement for all of the university's students? why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that a public speaking course should be a requirement for all of the university’s students wastes time and money for students and university. However, I strongly support that a public speaking course should be regraded as a requirement. Therefore, I agree with the statement for 3 reasons.

First of all, students care about friends, and adding a public speaking course as a requirement can help students make more friends. For example, when I was a student in National Cheng Kung University, I participated in a public presentation class. To be more specific, I learned how to speak fluently and how to deliver a lecture clearly to normal audience. As a result, I used these speaking skills confidently to talk to my classmates and succeeded in making more friends. Yet, if I never joined the class, I might not have the courage and the ability to find topic to chat with my classmates. Apparently, requiring every student to take part in the public speaking class is necessary.

Secondly, universities place emphasis on reputation, and a public speaking course can allow colleges to build a higher reputation. Take National Cheng Kung University as an instance, it ruled that the public speaking should be a requirement for department of engineering when I was a freshman. In additon, it also asked every student in these departments to deliver a lecture on the hall as a condition of graduation. Consequently, many people thought that the university very focus on the capability of presentation in front of the audience and give it a respect. Nonetheless, if the university did not add the course as a requirement, people might think the school not care about the development of speaking. Obviously, the college was notorious for people.

Last but not least, universities also focus on students’ future, and requiring all students to take the class can provide students with a brighter future. For example, if all the students take part in the public speaking class, they can use their clear pronounction and fascinating intonation to present a report well. In addition, they can also use some gestures to help explan their PPT. Hence, they will be recruited by prestigious companies due to their excellent presentation. Nevertheless, if students never take the public speaking class, they might not present their ideas well during the interview. As a consequence, they might not be appreciated by the business.

In conclusion, I agree that a public speaking course should be a requirement for all of the university’s students. After all, students care about friends, and university places emphasis on reputation and students’ future.