In many countries, the most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe that a better education is more effective.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, people have a great controversy of which approach would be effective to reform offenders: imprisonment or education. Personally, I highly appreciate the measure of education because of these rational reasons.

First of all, education brings back changes in criminals’ minds. It has been said that education makes criminals realize how their wrongdoings aggravate society or even hurt their relatives. Therefore, they might attempt to adjust their behaviors by following the laws in order not to adversely affect their beloved humans as well as to pay their debt to society. Furthermore, educated offenders might become the most appropriate people to talk to the next generations about the dangers of committing a crime. For example, there is an offender who persisted that the purpose of his deviant action was to get his life better. It is obvious that he had no idea how his illegal activity had a harsh impact on innocent people. Till the end, police had to invite a psychologist to go and talk to him. As a result, he realized that his behavior not only worsened his life but also hurt surrounding people, and he decided to accept the punishment.

Secondly, incarceration requires a huge amount of crime cost. In the United States, the government spends almost 70 billion dollars annually to place adults in prison and jails, to confine adolescents who engage in juvenile delinquency, and to supervise 7.3 million individuals on probation and parole. Consequently, dollars which should have meant to pay for public needs like health care, housing, and public assistance are expropriated to nurture antisocial people without predicting whether they will reform or not. On the contrary, if the government investigates education to make certain offenders are acknowledged about rules and laws so that they will not reoffend.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should focus on criminals' education rather than merely put them behind bars. By doing so, the amount of money for crime cost can be reduced as well as society can retrieve its good and conscientious citizens.