Many teachers assign homework to students every day. Do you think that daily homework is necessary for students? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Teaching institutions practice different teaching and learning technique to enhance the experience of education for the student. In some schools, teachers daily assign homework to the students; whereas, in others, all the work is done in schools and students are not given any homework. Considering the benefits, I think daily homework is necessary for every student. I feel this way for the following reasons.

First of all, daily assignments help students to better understand the topic and retain it in the memory for long time. They recall and apply the concepts learned in the class to do their homework. Without revising the lessons taught in the class the students have higher chance to forget the teaching. For instance, when my niece was in 5th grade, she used to miss her English homework. As a result, it was difficult for her to recall the chapters while studying for her terms and she scored less in that subject. However, following the teacher's advice, when she started to attempt her daily homework, she revised the lessons taught every day. She studied in detail to answer the questions and applied the concepts learned in the class. This drastically improved her hold on the language, making it easier for her to study during the exams. Consequently, she scored good grades in finals. She would not have improved so well without doing assignments regularly.

Moreover, everyday homework can be used as an objective outcome by the teachers to assess individual students learning in their subject regularly. Without the assignments, it’s too difficult for the tutor to find out which student is facing difficulty in understanding specific topic. A recent incidence with my students demonstrates a good example for this. I offer science tutoring every weekday to high school children in my community. Couple of weeks back, I taught them the concept of human breathing and its mechanics. Everyone agreed by saying that the topic was clear to them. To be sure, I asked them to write about human breathing mechanism in their own words as an assignment. Next day, while going through their answers, I found out that 2 of my students were still struggling with the mechanism of intra-thoracic pressure changes while breathing. This shows how assigning homework helped me to assess every student’s comprehension within no time. It enabled me to correct their mistakes when the topic was still fresh in their mind, which would not have been possible otherwise.

In conclusion, I believe daily homework should be a part of every student’s schedule. This is because for students, it promotes revision which gives them better understanding of the topic and for teachers, homework is one of the objective methods to assess student’s learning.