Nowadays many job interviewers and employers are looking for various additional sources of

information to better understand a job applicant. Which is the best way for the employers to better know the situation of a job applicant?

- Contacting previous employers the job applicant worked for and asking for further information.

- Checking the job applicant's profile on social platforms (such as social networking websites and social media)

- Letting the job applicant work for the company for a short period of time(1-month) and then decide whether to hire him permanently.

Commonly, it is necessary for employers to understand a job applicant so that they can decide whether the applicant is appropriate for the position. In my view, I believe the most efficient way to get know to an applicant is checking the job applicant’s profile on social plaforms.I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters,checking the profile is time-consuming and economical. Employers can spend few seconds knowing the complete job experience of an applicant by clicking the button on the screen. Therefore, they can view large amounts of interviewees in a limited time, enhancing the productivity in human resource management. My own experience is a compelling model of that. My leader told me to hire a junior lawyer for my group last year. I received hundreds of applications after releasing that position on Linkedin. Finally, I had to choose between two applicants after paper tests. I checked their profile, on which they listed not only their advantages and but also other’s appraisal on them so that I could deeply know their situations. As a result, I gave the offer to a girl because she had detailed descriptions about her aspiration and future plans, which perfectly fit the requirement of that position. Not surprisingly, she turned out to be a diligent clerk after entering my group. This example shows that checking profiles can help employers find superior workers with great convenience.

Compared with this method, contacting previous employers and asking for further information is incovenient and may be a waste of time, because previous employers may be loath to provide reliable and true information about that applicants due to personal inclinations. For example, if someone quit a job because he cannot tolerate the corruption and cronyism in a company, although he may be an excellent and responsible worker, his supervisor may be reluctant to applaud his quality. Therefore, I do not recommend this measure because employers will likely fail to obtain valuable information.

I admit that letting the applicant work for a short period time can lead employers to understand his capabilities thoroughly because they have plenty of time to evaluate him from all aspects. However, if the applicant is wanting that he cannot complete the tasks, companies will pay a relatively high price because they are obliged to enumerate him. Also, companies risk making secret information leaked in this condition.

Based on the reasons stated above, I assume checking profiles is the most favorable way to understand the situation of a job applicant because it can help leaders locate appropriate workers at the least cost.