Nowadays, people put too much emphasis on personal appearance and fashion.

It is not a new thing for most young school children to be required to take some specially designed courses on art and music as a supplement to their math, language, science, and history courses. People have and still do debate whether such supplementary courses are necessary at all. Personally, I believe these courses on art and music are necessary for young children, especially considering the benefits they bring in increasing school admission possibilities and time management skills.

Firstly, learning art and music can increase children's chances of being admitted to outstanding middle school. Many prestigious schools will consider students with talent in art and music. Since excellent educational resources are limited, it is reasonable for young children to be required to study art and music, to give them an edge. For instance, Tom, my classmate, has just been admitted to a prestigious middle school in our town. The admission committee says that one of the reasons that Tom was admitted is that he has gifts in performing on the piano and in Chinse painting. Since many children with versatile skills like Tom are accepted into excellent middle school, it is wise to have young children study art and music.

Secondly, having youth learn art and music can improve children's time management skills. Scholarly research, most recently published by Harvard Univerisity Press, has proved that this is true. The study published by HUP recruited a team of volunteers to test their efficiency at managing their time and studying. The volunteers were divided into two groups, one of which was taught only core subjects, such as math science, language, and history. The other group also had to take classes in arts and music. Before the study began, all the volunteers were at the same level. After four hours, the group taking art and music courses scored higher on average in all their grades. Those students had learned how to manage their time by having more to do, and been given a valuable break during the week from their core studies; a break seemed to refresh them in all their studies.

Admittedly, art and music courses might take up time that could be used in core subjects. Some people even assert that such courses will negatively influence students' other studies. But the results of the study published by Harvard University Press show this is not true in general. The truth is that students who spend a reasonable amount of time studying art and music become more efficient in their learning.

To summarize, art and music courses are positive for children's regular learning, even though some people worry that learning art and music could occupy too much time. Based on the reasons given above, therefore, I firmly believe that they should be required to study art and music in addition to the regular subjects.