At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

- Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated.

- Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

- Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

cheating of students in school and ways to reduce such behavior is a great concern of instructors and parents. this is because in this situation it is hard to have a precise evaluation of students. There are a lot of ways that people believe will lead to reduce of the cheating such as parents control or punishment. However, I believe that just teachers could prevent this issue through redesign assignments. The ensuing paragraphs explain my reasons for this position.

First and foremost, it is obvious that punishing students would lead to feel ashamed or worthlessness in them. Therefore, not only it cannot prevent them from cheating but also can leave negative effects on them. For instance, if a high school student become punished in front of his or her classmate it might lose his/ her self-confident or in worse it can make a hatefulness from study and school. Thus, punishing could not convince students to do the assignment by themselves. A good example can drive this notion home. When I was in high school, I cheat in one of my homework, I copied my friend’s mathematic answers and my teacher realized that. she considered a harsh punished for me, she called me a little stupid girl and forced other students to call me in the same way. I remember how it was difficult for me, I felt ashamed and I had a strong hate about my teachers and my schools.

Second, with technologies such as Internet and cell-phone it is impossible for parents to completely control their children’s activities in order to prevent them from cheating. Put it in other words, the technology makes the cheating so easy, for instance a student can set in front of his parents and asking his friend to send him answer of the assignment in Facebook. In this situation how his parents can know that his cheating and force him to do his assignment by his own. Hence, the idea that parents help student to do not cheating is not going to work.

In conclusion, reaching the goal that student encourage to do their homework by themselves and do not cheating cannot realized by neither parents monitor nor punishment. I strongly believe that the teachers are the key of this problem through designing more difficult homework.