At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated

Or

Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

Throughout the history, using other’s effort have been blamed by societies. Nowadays, students normally do not possess the foresight that what they gain through cheating is of no value in the long run, and may spell disaster for their whole life. They cannot achieve their desire job due to the lack of knowledge and skills. Accordingly, the controversial question which has always caused heated debates is whether or not asking parents to behold and supervise their children's homework and asking teachers to contrive difficult homework are appropriate ways to impede student cheating or not. I, nonetheless, hold an alternative perspective and believe that the most momentous and influential way which may prevent students from cheating is increment of their penalty. Further discussion on this topic can be boiled down to a couple of upcoming reasons below.

The first exquisite reason bears in mind is that psychological studies have revealed that set up punishment is among the most effective manners which prevent people, specifically students, from cheating. In this circumstance, a kind of fearful of penalty will arouse in students’ mind which gives rise to stimulation of electrical activities in their mind that inhibits them to do a blamed and impeded task like cheating. For instance, if students have the fear of failing the course provided that they cheat, it will hamper them to do that due to the fact that they would realize the low mark have more value than drop the course. Consequently, teachers can devise particular chastise for those who cheat and use other's attempts instead of making their own efforts.

The second precious reason which will corroborate my standpoint is that, in this economic stagnation, parents are forced to work from dawn till dusk to tackle their essential expenditures. Hardly ever do they find any time to check their children's assignment, let alone watching carful and monitor them during doing homework. As a result, parents are not able to prevent their children from cheating. Moreover, children, nowadays, are extremely swift and they can find new ways to deceive their parents and cheat stealthy. Accordingly, in this circumstance, not only would children not be preclude, but they also would ponder finding new ways to fool their parents, which have a dire consequence in long run as if it will breach the mutual reliability, and arousing plausible friction among parents and their children.

The last but not least point which deserve some words hear is that devising arduous homework assignment would not bear fruit owing to the fact that it may diminish the sense of achievement among astute students who do their homework without cheating. It is axiomatic that the more laborious and difficult the assignments, the less feasibility to be solved which decline children incentive to solve them due to several fiasco during solving.

Contemplating all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that the first and the last solution mentioned in the question may not work out. It is highly recommended that teachers devise the most impressive penalty for cheaters.