In order to succeed, it is better to be more like others than different from everyone else. Agree or disagree?

We have entered in the era where judgment is everywhere and being unique is unacceptable and has becoming more difficult. Contrary to those people who hold the idea that it is better to more like others than different from everyone else in order to succeed, I am of the opinion that being unique is more important for a person to be successful because being unique provides us more chances to show our talent and helps me make more true friends.

Uniqueness provides us with more opportunities to show our talent. People different from surroundings can get attention easily, thus, have more chances to show their talent, which contributes directly to one’s success. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light on this point. Once a time, I disagreed with one decision made by monitor while others in my class all support him. My teacher asked me about the reason, and I told her my opinion and explanation, which earned teacher’s strong support. After that, I always talk to my teacher and shared some thought of mine with her, from which I gained a lot of benefit. Finally, my teacher wrote a recommendation letter for me when I was applying for a university. From this story, being unique instead of duplication of others helped me to have more chances to show my talent and thought with others and contributes to my success in university application.

Being uniqueness helps us make more true friends, and thus, enlarge our social network, which is the key factor in achieving success. Recently research shows that a unique person makes more true friends. For people who being unique, his friendship tends to be more based on common thought and interest, which exerts positive effect on achieving long-lasting friendship. Take my mother for example, she met her lifetime best friend when she was taking a dance class. Based on common interest, they cherish each other and make the friendship last for thirty years. Thus, being uniqueness helps us obtain true and long-lasting friendship.

Essentially, uniqueness contributes directly to success in way of brings us more opportunities and is helpful in obtaining true friendship. Thus, I support the idea that in order to succeed, people should be more different from others instead of being a duplication.