parents today are more involved in their children's education than parents were in the past-TPO 28

Parents play a pivotal role in their children's education. While most people believe that in the past, parents were more involved in the education of their children, I tend to argue that parents today get involved in their children's education more in comparison with the parents in the past. In the following essay, I will vindicate my stance through two noticeable reasons.

To begin with, parents today are more knowledgeable and erudite compared to parents in the past. In this regard, they can provide their children with more help in their education. For instance, my cousin studied mathematics at university. As a result of this, she helps her child with her math problems like teaching her or providing some math questions in order to prepare her for her exams. However, my cousin’s parents did not finish their studies, providing her with no aid with her mathematical problems. Therefore, the more educated parents are, the more involved they can be in their children’s education.

Another equally significant point is that in the past, parents wanted to have more than 4 children. In this regard, they had not enough time allocating for each of their children’s education. On the contrary, today parents tend to have only one or two children, having enough time helping their children in their education. Thus, according to the survey conducted, the more children every family has, the less chance they have to involve in their children’s education.

Last but not least, today, the advent of technology particularly the internet and also, the improvements in the educational system inform parents about the importance of their children’s education. Consequently, parents in order to encourage their children to study hard, give them their support like helping them with their courses, employing a tutor and so forth. In the past, however, parents were not well-informed about the fact that education can act as a vital role in their children’s future, not involving in their educational issues.

All in all, nowadays parents get involvements in the process of their children's education more than the parents in the past. This is because parents today are more literate. Furthermore, parents today not only have fewer children but also get enough information about the necessity of their involvement in their children's education. This is why I think that parents today have more involvement in their children's education compared to parents in the past.