Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

People have long been seeking ways to achieve success in their lives. Most people state that it is better to do what you have already known well to become successful in your life rather than doing something risky and new. However, I tend to argue that taking risks and doing new things have far greater impacts on one's success. In the following essays, I will vindicate my stance through two noticeable reasons.

To begin with, taking risks could be a significant motivating force to enhance versatility, making it easier for a person to attain success. It means that when people take risks in carrying out a particular work, they both study any related available sources and ask people who are experts in their fields, trying to cope with the obstacles they face and preventing failures. Thus, by engaging in such activities, people can enrich their understanding in various fields and as a result, they can successfully solve the problems. For instance, last year, I had a project with one of my professors in the field of the eating pattern of mice. When I was busy doing research on mice, another professor suggested me to help her with the experiments based on the eating behavior of fish which I knew nothing about. Actually, by accepting this work, I took risks as I did not know whether I could manage my time properly to do observations on both majors or not. But working with her taught me a lot about this filed and even I became interested in this subject. Therefore, not only can I do both subjects properly but I can also expand my knowledge in order to use them in new conditions I face. This example shows that the more risks people take the more successful person they become.

Another equally significant point is that by doing new things, people become more creative because when they confront new obstacles, their brain uses all its capacity to both overcome and solve problems. To illustrate this, last day I read an article in the field of neuroscience. The author suggested that when his colleagues and he were doing observations on the brain of people who did different things during their lifetime and did not stick to things they were skillful at, they found that these people had more developed brains. So, they concluded that the more developed their brain gets, the more creative they become. Thus, creativity helps people create diverse solutions to deal with difficult circumstances, making it easy to experience success.

All in all, I believe that doing various things and taking risks not only can provide people with more knowledge and versatility but also increase people's creativity. That is why I highly recommend that people participate in novel and risky activities.