In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Nowadays, whenever people are doing something, they seem to have more options due to the rapid development of technology. And here is a claim that youngsters are better able to make their own decisions compared to young people in the past. As far as I am concerned, I accede to this opinion because of two reasons. The first one is that today's education is more perfect than the past and the second one is that children in the past are limited by the environment.

To begin with, today's education system is relatively impeccable, which enables students become dependent and make their decisions for themselves. Since government put a great deal of emphasis on education nowadays, students are likely to develop comprehensively. Not only knowledge is imparted to students, but moral values and other stuffs are instilled to students. And decision making is just one of them. Hence, children are better able to make their own decisions on account of the education they get. However, in the past students were poorly educated, which was especially true for most Chinese kids. Parents could hardly pay for the tuition fee and education seemed inaccessible to most people. Consequently, students now are better able to make their own decisions.

Secondly, young people in the past barely had chance to make decisions, which was caused by the environment they lived in. And financial income is a primary limitation to them. For instance, a child might want to go to school, but his or her parents forced this child to work in the farm because of the unfinished farm work. In this situation, the child may want to make a decision, to get education in the school, but his or her imagination is greatly impeded by the fact. Life was hard, if the kid did not work in the farm, his or her family might suffer from hunger. Although this example might be a little bit exaggeration, it perfectly illustrates my point. And it was the real case of most Chinese children in the past, about 50 years ago. In the contrast, people now are not limited by these conditions, so they will be better at making decisions.

In conclusion, since education plays an important role in kids' development, missing them can make them less able to make decisions. Besides, the environment can also serve as an impediment to their decision making.