People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellow students or co-workers - than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Some people like to learn things from people they like , such as their peers and coworkers. The atmosphere is relatively quieter. But I am rational, and to learn more knowledge effectively, I think that a highly-skilled teacher or boss might be a better option.

If one's tutor has had professional training on how to teach, then learning with him will be efficient. For example, before math teachers become able to teach students, they need to learn psychology and pedagogy. They need to learn how to make students think, and how to learn efficiently. After many years of teaching, they can sum up where students tend to make mistakes. Their education and psychology experience can effectively pass knowledge to students , and can sum up a type of problem according to students' weaknesses ., and obviously, a friend cannot do this.

If a student wants to learn, then he should ask someone smarter than him. I will still use a teacher as an example. The teacher is going to teach a system of knowledge, and only after the student has learned this knowledge systematically, instead of piecing together something you don't know, can you proceed to the next stage of learning based on this system. For example, the derivative can only be learned after the limit function, the differential function can only be learned after the derivative, the integral can only be learned after the differential function, and the calculus can only be learned after the integral. This set of knowledge obviously cannot be taught by a friend.

If a problem is only a minor problem, a friend can help you solve it, because they are right beside you, and you only need to turn around or raise a head to get help, and don't need to pay a visit to a busy teacher's office. It is similar to when your bike tire is flat. You only have to borrow a neighbor's bike pump instead of the bike fixing center. But when your bike is broken, then you must go to the bike fixing center instead of asking a neighbor.

Let the professionals do the professional thing. If you want to learn systematic knowledge, then do not refuse a skilled tutor, because he is your best option