Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children (ages five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents are always telling their children to stop painting, singing, and lots of other things that aren’t algebra, language, or science. All these parents have a unanimous purpose: make them have a better education. On the superficial side, this may seem beneficent, but it isn’t as parents had thought. There are two reasons why it is important for kids to learn art and music in addition to academic studies.

To begin with, art and music can both inspire creativity in students. In art, people can invent their own style, which is very innovative. Similar to art, music can also make one great works. In many top schools, creativity is very important in art and music. If parents want their students to have a good education, they should make it better for students to show creativity in fields that are taught in school,like art and music.

Another reason is that since about 2015, jobs that provide good salaries are all about “resume classes”. For example, a singer may earn millions of dollars in just a single show. Not only that, he or she will also be famous, and just needs to excel in singing instead of Science, Physics, or Chemistry. If a student chooses to create art for a life, then he or she doesn’t have to excel in other studies other than art. There are other choices of careers.

Opponents of this might say that art and music aren’t as important as algebra and science. They might have a negative influence on children. But a study conducted in 1968 supports the claim that art and music could make a child enjoy life better. On the contrast, math and science might make a child grumpier and less healthy. Also, art and music can let kids find enjoyment.

In conclusion, art and music are just as important as other fields, other than what most people had thought. There are two reasons why it is so: creativity and salaries. So, the next time a parent tells you art and music aren’t important as mathematics, use the reasons above to oppose him or her.