People should be open to new ideas and change his or her own mind to be successful.

Currently, based on the society full of fierce competition and ever-changing circumstance, it is difficult for us to catch up with the trend without keeping an eye on newly-emerging notions or ideas. Hence, some individuals propose that at the aim of becoming successful, people are supposed to be open to new ideas and adapt to these changes. Personally speaking, I concur with the opinion and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To start with, mere with the open-mind can we get the upper hand during the rival with other individuals. Nowadays, some traditional industries have stretched to their limits. Meanwhile, since the society is continuously changing and the newly-emerging affairs tend to possess great potential to be excavated, people with open-mind are likely to maximize the use of these affairs based on the first-mover advantage. For instance, Jack Ma, one of the most successful businessmen in China, achieve success with his open mind. To be more specific, Jack Ma was aware of the great potential in e-commerce, then he, together with his partners, formed the company named Alibaba to start up the e-commerce, which was pioneering in 2000. Due to the large population in China, this company consequently possesses billions of customers, which entitles Jack Ma to be the most wealthy individual in China after the founding of it. This example illuminates that citizens with open mind are capable of gain a first-mover advantage, which enables them to succeed more easily.

What’s more, open-mind is also conducive for individuals to enlarge their social network, which helps them to discover potential existing opportunities during the interaction with more friends. Obviously, introverted people usually cannot step out of their shells, which prevents them from engaging in fresh affairs. The research conducted to evaluate the relationship between their social network and future achievement illuminates that individuals with greater aptitude of maintaining social network tend to become more successful. When researchers asked them which factor they reckon is the most significant one in their successes, 78% them chose open-minded, since they suggest that open-mind ensures that they can maintain interaction with other eminent people and these kinds of experience boosts them to imitate the same characteristics they have, which eventually leads to their achievement. In addition, there is an increasing number of new information ensuring individuals to catch up with the trend, thus without an open mind, individuals are probably lagged behind the era. Therefore, they cannot achieve success.

Admittedly, it is difficult for individuals to be open to new ideas since the process of changing is always full of unpleasant and frustration, nevertheless, perceiving the great reward we can obtain through changing, apparently, it is worthwhile to change our mind to adapt to the ever-changing society.

In a nutshell, since open-mind enables individuals to enhance their aptitude of information absorption, which means they are capable of accumulating newly-emerging information, and boost their social network, it is true that people ought to be open to new ideas ad alter their mind in order to achieve successes.