People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing.

I agree with the statement that people should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. Everyone has things they like and things that they don’t like, for example, someone can enjoy playing volleyball with their friends but doesn’t enjoy reading a book. Knowing how to manage what we need and what we want is the best way to balance everything in our life. In my case, I always enjoyed reading novels that could have more than 500 pages, but I did not enjoy studying 10 pages for a biology exam, even though that didn’t mean I wouldn’t study, I had to do a task a didn’t enjoy so I could go well on the exam. In another moment in my life, I had to choose between going out with my friends to watch a movie or going to a presentation in my university that would give me extra-activity points and knowledge, and while I thought that the presentation would be boring and that I would be missing out if I didn’t go out with my friends, the presentation ended up being way better.

In other cases, doing something we don’t enjoy might help us grow and learn how to deal with different situations, maybe trying a new food or giving a second chance to play a sport we thought wasn’t fun, we can realize that the food was actually really good and that the sport wasn’t as bad as we thought, or maybe we can just confirm that we didn’t like the food or the sport at all. So doing something that we don’t enjoy can be really challenging but can also be rewarding. Many times in my life I had to do things that I didn’t enjoy, either because I needed them or because I had to, and I can see that maybe at the moment of the situation I wasn’t enjoying, but now I can learn with it.