People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do

I totally accede to the statement that people today tend to spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things rather than doing things they ought to do. As far as I am concerned, there seems to be more and more distractions which attract and confuse people. In addition, the rapid development of society releases our concerns about the things we should do.

Primarily, there are more and more distractions and attractions, catching people's eyes. For instance, we can watch 3D or 4D movies in the movie theater, or we can even watch it at home using VR technology. And we are able to play various games on our mobile phone. Due to these numerous entertainment, people are prone to be appealed by these new things and become attached to them. What my brother has experienced can fully illustrate this point. My brother Timmy is a high school student. Recently, his classmates enjoys playing a mobile phone game which Timmy also loves. And then he beg for my mother to purchase a mobile phone, otherwise he won't study hard. Finally, he got his new mobile phone, but he immediately became addicted to those games, throwing his assignment and study all away. Consequently, when facing temptation, we become incapable of resisting it, thus forgetting what we should do.

Secondly, the high-end technology enables people to concern less about themselves. For example, when we feel hungry at home, we do not have to think too much about the hunger. Because we can just order the meal online and have the meals delivered to our houses within 30 minutes. Another case in point is that we care less about the ways we go out since there are numerous methods we can use to arrive at our destinations, such as taking the subway, calling a cab online, etc. All these convenience drives from the rapidly-growing technology, which tremendously facilitates our lives.

In conclusion, living in such environments with innumerous attractions and entertainment, people are prone to spend too much time on what they like. What's more, the versatile technology has greatly facilitates our lives, attenuating our needs to pay attention to what we should do.