The people we work with have many different characteristics and all of them affect the quality of our time at work. Of the following, what do you think is the most important quality for a boss or supervisor to have?

a serious attitude about their work

a lot of related experience

a tendency to always tell the truth

You may choose more than one. Use specific details and examples in your answer.

The behavior, attitude, and work ethic of the people we work with greatly affect our quality of time at work In my opinion, a serious attitude towards the work and a tendency to always tell the truth are some of the most important qualities that a boss or supervisor should have. Most successful organizations in the world reached there because of their diligent managers who motivated the employees to thrive in their tasks. I will elaborate on this in the following essay.

To begin with, hardly anyone would disagree with the fact that only a boss who is serious about his or her work would be able to lead and guide their workers towards the path of growth and prosperity. Take the example of any corporate organization. It is not hard to see that firms whose managers have a laid-back attitude toward the work are not doing very well. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I worked at a FinTech startup firm named Bullsurge, my direct line manager there was very friendly but quite strict regarding the completion of day-to-day tasks assigned to the team. My knowledge growth was exponential working there only because my manager was a workaholic who believed in me and pushed me to do better every single day.

Secondly, a tendency to tell the truth that is a quality of being honest is critical to maintaining the mental health and morale of the employees regardless of their designation. In corporate politics, telling lies to one's colleagues is really common just to get an upper edge for promotions, or maintain a good image to the manager. Moreover, supervisors themselves tend to rely on lies and trickery to get credit for the work accomplished by a person who is subordinate. One can only imagine the mental stress that the employees would have to go through working under this kind of boss. Additionally, telling the truth is crucial to ensure that everyone on the team is on the same page, for example, the goals for the quarter, deadlines, etc. A supervisor who would deprive the people working under him or her would surely contribute towards decreasing the morale and motivation of their employees. An employee who knows that his or her work would be appreciated if done properly, and relevant incentives would be provided, will definitely stay motivated and loyal to an organization.

In conclusion, a serious work ethic and honesty are the most important qualities listed that a boss or a supervisor should have. Because only a person with strong work principles can guide their subordinates to the path of success, and honesty is the best policy to keep the employees mentally healthy, and motivated.