People who cannot accept criticism will not succeed working in teams

In the past several decades, the world has gone through massive changes on both a societal and an individual level. Nowadays, daily work increasingly concludes team cooperation. The debate over whether people who reject others’ criticism cannot succeed as a team is still fierce. Some may suggest that criticism from others can only affect our performance and should ignore them. However, I hold this view differently. I believe people should accept this criticism.

To begin with, embracing others’ criticism can actually benefit us and further help the whole team. When people admit some mistakes in a group activity, even if they could not realize it, their coworkers and superiors can precisely point out that since they have an objective viewpoint, which serves as a reminder to help us improve our own weaknesses and allow us to achieve further success at a team. Therefore, when others suggest some question or judgment, we should embrace them rather than waste time debating. For example, it is hard to imagine Scottie Pippen and Dennis Rodman becoming NBA super-star and the Chicago Bulls winning the NBA championship six times if they did not accept their teammate Michael Jordan’s advice about their shooting form. Similarly, it is also impossible for Cristiano Ronaldo, famous for his puzzling footwork and scoring, to become worldwide famous if he rejects advice from his coach.

Moreover, accepting others’ criticism makes teamwork smooth. More and more work today involve collaboration. People who only focus on their job and reject cooperating with others can never succeed as a team. During team cooperation, mistakes are inevitable, and if one is failed to accept others’ questions, the whole process will be affected. People who cannot accept criticism would create a hostile atmosphere, thereby reducing efficiency and further making it hard to achieve the shared goal. In a recent study conducted by Harvard University, when asked what the most critical quality during teamwork is, fifty-eight percent of people chose ‘accept others’ advice welly.’

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly that people who cannot accept criticism cannot achieve success in a team for the reasons discussed above.