In order to get a higher promotion and salary many people chose to improve their job performance in two ways Which one do you prefer Why To do additional work and assignments To actively participate in the group work

In the past several decades, the world has gone through massive changes on both a societal and an individual level. Nowadays, more and more people feel adequate about what they have learned. They want to sharpen their ability in order to stand out from the crowd. Doing additional assignments and taking part in more group discussions are two common choices for them. Undeniably, the first one has its own advantages, but it is pale when compared with participating in more group activities.

To begin with, contributing ideas to others can serve as a tool to help us figure out our own weaknesses and improve them. Others can easily point out mistakes we may admit from an objective viewpoint, providing a comprehensive and accurate understanding of our ability. Therefore, this advice can be beneficial. For example, it is hard to imagine Scottie Pippen and Dennis Rodman becoming NBA All-Star if they do not participate in the tactic discussions prior to games and communication with their teammate, in which their teammate Michael Jordan and their coach constantly remind them to change their shot style and sharing the ball more frequently.

Admittedly, doing some extra assignments can help people to improve themselves. They can acquire plenty of knowledge from this process and learn how to tackle complicated tasks. Nevertheless, imagine an office worker who is busy connecting with clients, dealing with relationships between superiors and colleagues, and solving arduous assignments before the deadline; he has no time to waste on extra work. In that case, there is no more efficient approach to enhancing one’s career performance than participating in group discussions. Further, a group discussion also contributes to people’ communication skills. People who only focus on their jobs can never achieve success as a team. According to a recent study conducted by Harvard University, research has shown that when asked what the most important quality is you think for an employee, fifty-eight percent of employers chose communication skills and cooperation.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser option that participates more actively to improve one’s career performance for the reasons discussed above.