Schools have always offered students three types of after school activities But due to recent limited budgets they can only support one kind of activities Which one would you choose 1 Sports 2 Arts 3 Volunteering

In order to improve students’ school experience, plenty of schools have various types of after-school activities. Sports, arts, and volunteer activities are three common after-school activities. Considering the limited budget, only one activity can continue. Indeed the first two have their own advantages. However, these advantages are pale when compared with taking part in volunteering activities.

To begin with, there is much education that occurs outside the class, and volunteering activities can help students learn a lot. Isolated in their ivory towers, students, even some senior students, have no idea about the real world. They do not know what kinds of jobs they are interested in and what types of life they prefer. Consider that volunteering activities can provide students with an excellent opportunity to have a comprehensive and objective understanding of the real world and help them figure out their dream. Use my personal experience as an example. During a volunteer activity, I meet my friend Frank. He defeated a high-paid job and devoted himself to charity funding in order to help children from unprivileged families get into school. I was touched deeply by his spirit and knew how a dream could encourage people to give up materialism and achieve one’s dreams.

Some may suggest that sports can help students keep in shape, contributing to their physical health. Nevertheless, students nowadays are busy taking classes, doing assignments, and preparing for exams daily. Suppose that, after a long day, students are so exhausted that they have no extra energy to do some exercise. As for Arts, some believe arts can enable students to develop curiosity and creativity, which could lead to mental development. While in my opinion, using funding for the arts is totally a waste of money. Students are motivated to paint or draw only when they show great interest in the art field. Imagine students are forced to paint or draw. They would only feel bored and waste time, which works against their self-efficacy.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser choice to continue volunteering activities for the reasons discussed above.