In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed if you are a freshman which method do you think is better 1 attending a one week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus and before classes begin 2 meeting regularly

In order to improve students’ university experience, many universities now provide students with some activities. Attending an orientation program on campus and meeting regularly with senior students are two common options. Undeniable, the first one has its own advantage, but it is pale when compared with having regular meetings with senior students.

To begin with, senior students in the same major can help students familiar with the campus and help us academically. Generally, senior students are always experienced; they can teach first-year students about the dorm’s rules, how to use facilities on the campus, and how to connect with advisors when they are in trouble. All of these are useful in their academic career. First-year students are prone to having difficulty in their studies. In that case, a senior student in the same major can help them figure out problems. Therefore, senior students can help us in various aspects.

Moreover, meeting with senior students provides first-year students with an excellent opportunity to mingle with more talented people; they can get to know people from various backgrounds and people with different personalities. Through these regular communications, students not only expand their social circle but also sharpen their communication skills. Nowadays, daily study increasingly involves teamwork, and the student’s communication skills determine if they can succeed as a team.

Admittedly, some may suggest that a one-week orientational program can give students a comprehensive understanding of the building and facilities on the campus. However, I hold this view differently. Students have plenty of things to prepare prior to a new semester, so they may have no time to waste on living one week on campus. On the other hand, meeting during the first year brings students a time-flexibilities to decide when and where to hold a meeting.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser choice to set a regular meeting during the first year for the reasons discussed above.