A person should never make an important decision alone.

family:"times New Roman",serif">

family:"times New Roman",serif">decision making is a cognitive process of producing a final choice consisting of several steps. even an everyday decision can have long-lasting effects which can be positive or negative. I agree that a person should listen to other’s opinions and premises whenever possible in order to make more deliberate and thoughtful decisions.

family:"times New Roman",serif">First of all, a decision can be made by only one person such as a leader or an executive of a company; however, if the decision is a bad choice, the consequences can exert a strong influence on many people for a long time. Most decisions actually need group decision making process, especially those are made by managers of organisations. To make the best decisions, managers need to have the ideal resources - information, time, personnel, equipment, and supplies; and identify any limiting factors. Realistically, an individual decision making process can not provide ideal resources because nobody can grasp all information in all aspects. one of the best known methods for developing alternatives is through brainstorming, where a group works together to generate ideas and alternative solutions. The assumption behind brainstorming is that the group dynamic stimulates thinking - one person's ideas, no matter how outrageous, can generate ideas from the others in the group. As a result, groups provide a broader perspective and ofamily:"times New Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"times New Roman"">pportunities for discussion to answer questions and reduce uncertainties for the decision makers. Futhermore, employees are more likely to be satisfied and to support the final decision.

family:"times New Roman",serif">In addition, asking family, friends or teachers for advice helps a person have broader view of the issue, therefore make better decisions, even though the decisions do not produce profound effects. The entire decision‐making process is dependent upon the right information being available at the right times. For that reason, it is important to collect enough pertinent information before making decision. Some information is internal that can be sought through a process of self-assessment, while other external information is from other people and can present different perspectives of a problem. As collecting information from different sources, several possible paths of action, or better alternatives can be probably identified. For example, a student can independently choose his major at university based on his interests, but there is possibly a better major at a better university that he has never heard of. if he asks his teachers or other college students, he will have more information to make a good choice. Moreover, sometimes the decision‐making process is extremely short and can be finished without much effort. In other situations, the process can drag on for weeks or even months, which brings physical and mental exhaustion. In those cases, support and help from others is a source of energy for a person to overcome many difficulties in making a decision.

family:"times New Roman",serif">In short, if the decisions concerning the people on a larger scale, then making decisions alone is unacceptable. And if the personal decisions have an indirect effect on people around, therefore consulting with one's close friends or family is strongly advised.