Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There are different views on whether grades inspire students to study or not. Some people believe that the marks system has a negative effect on students, but there are doubts about whether such a statement bears much truth. However, the opponents still challenge that position, stating that grades assist students to learn. While there is much to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the latter opinion and have two reasons for doing so. Still, this deserves further speculation and scrutiny, which I will delve into.

To begin, grades help to start learning a subject as an external motivation, which, eventually, can lead to internal interest of studying. In other words, the desire for good grades can transform into the passion, which is beneficial characteristic for studying. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly infuenced by my own example. When I was at school I had the lowest grades in Math. Tremendously hard was it for me not only because I was mediocre in mathematics but also that I believed that I am dissapointing a math teacher. Even though I did not like math still, I decided to improve my grades in order just to have a better grades. It took me blood, swear, and tears to accomplish homework carefully and after a few months my grades became better. Moreover, after six month I had excellent marks and started to participate in different mathematical competitions, which helped me to understand that I want to become mathematician in the future. If I had not received feedback form the teacher in terms of grades I would have not started to improve my skills, and would have not found tha math is my passion.

Furthermore, high grades can promote a learner's interest, which encourage student to be more focused on studying a subject. In contrast, if the the grade system had been canceled the student would not have been aware of his talents and would not have had such a profound knowledge of the subject. My friend Andrew is a typical example. On the one hand, when he was enrolled in history class at school he received high grades almost without any effort. On the other hand, because he had excellent marks it motivated him not to stop but continue to learn history even more. He mentioned that if he had not received grades he would not have had an idea that history is a subject which he appreciate.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that grades inspire students to learn. Grades can serve as motivation, which can lead to the internal interest in a subject, and by having high grades it can incline student to put even more effort on studying.