Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that adolescents should not take a part-time job when they are young, but there are doubts about whether such a statement bears much truth. However, the opponents still challenge that position, stating that inspire children to take the part-time job is an excellent way to equip them for adult life. While there is much to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the latter opinion and have two reasons for doing so. Still, this area deserves further speculation and scrutiny, which I will delve into.

To begin, by taking a part-time job children will learn how to use money wisely, which is an invaluable characteristic in adult life. Moreover, by learning how to use the money they earn from childhood, youngsters will have a better chance to become successful. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experience. When I was at school my parents advised me to take a few hours day of public work in a local print house, which will give me a steady income. On the one hand, after receiving money I was spending them buying unnecessary things such as video games, icecreams and comics. On the other hand, after a while father offered me not to waste the money but to gather them. Tremendously hard was it for me to achieve but still, I started to waste less money. After six months of collection, it was a considerable amount of money and I was able to buy my first laptop which made be over the moon. Moreover, I gained invaluable experience which showed the advantages of the wise use of money. If the parents had not encouraged me to take a part-time job I would not have gained the priceless lesson about the careful use of money.

Furthermore, by inspiring children to get a part-time job, parents will help them to learn how to communicate with people. Moreover, when children will comprehend this skill it will be easier for them to find a job. For example, when I worked at a print house my task was to sell the newspapers and my salary depended on have many I will sell. Even though I was a shy boy at first and was able to handle only a few in a day, still after a month I learned how to do that effectively. The secret I found was that people will more likely to buy the newspaper if I will talk with them and tell the beginning of a story which is written in the newspaper. In the beginning, it took me blood, sweat, and tears to tell the story but after a few months, I became an excellent storyteller and had a lot of constant buyers. Moreover, by understanding how to communicate with people it helped me to find a lucrative job as a manager in my hometown company. If my parents had not inspired me to take this job it would have been harder for me to find this job.

In light of the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that the best way for parents to prepare kids for adult life is to help them find a part-time job. This is because this job not only will teach them how to use money wisely but also train their communicative skills which is of vast importance nowadays.