Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that the adolescents have enough time to help their community, but there are doubts about whether such a statement bears much truth. However, the opponents still challenge that position, stating that youngsters can not afford to support their community. While there is much to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the latter opinion and have two reasons for doing so. Still, this deserves further speculation and scrutiny, which I will delve into.

To begin, because the modern world is more complicated than in the past, students need to comprehend a vast amount of information, which means that they do not have time for their community. In the past, however, the situation was different, and young people had enough time for the community. I have to admit that my own example has profoundly influenced my opinion on this matter. When I was at school, I was studying different subjects such as biology, programming, physics. Tremendously hard was it for me not only because I had a lot of homework but also that I needed to have a profound comprehension of those subjects to be competitive to enter the university. On the one hand, before school, my father and I were helping our community by selling the lemonade and giving the money earned to the poor. On the other hand, after entering the school, even though I spent all my time only for school and doing anything else, it still took me blood, sweat, and tears to learn and enter the university. In contrast, when my father was at school, he had less homework and had enough money to help his community. If I had not spent all the time by learning but helping the society, I would not have entered the university because of the lack of knowledge.

Furthermore, because of mass media which offer a massive amount of ways youngsters can spend their free time, they are less interested in helping the community. After the school, they will instead play games which are excitable than go outside to help others. In comparison, in the past, there were fewer distractions, and people were more willing to spend their time helping others. For example, I have neighbor Andrew who was neither studying nor assisting the community in helping poor people but was playing video games with the help of virtual reality glasses after school. When my father asked him to help raise money for the impoverished, he refused by saying that it is boring and is not as exciting as playing games. In contrast, our parents lived in the period when there were no such disturbances and for them, supporting others was ordinary. If adolescents had not had a vast amount of amusements, they would have had to spend more time by aiding the community.

In the light of the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that young people do not have enough time to assist the society. This is because not only youngsters have more homework than ever before which take all the time but also that there is a lot of entertainment which lessens the motivation to help others.