Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a doubt, the job plays an essential part in our life. In modern life, the question arises about the period in which it was easier to find permanent income. Some people believe that it was easier to build a career and have a secure and successful future in the past. However, the opponents still challenge that position, stating that nowadays it is to identify the type of work which will bring a lot of profit for one's future life. While there is much to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the former opinion which seems like a sound and reasonable choice. Still, this area deserves further speculation and scrutiny, which I will delve into.

To begin with, society in the past was less complex which means that even permanent law qualified work could bring for a family enough money for them to feel secure and comfortable. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by parent's example. When they were young both of them worked in a factory. Satisfied they were with this work not only because it was unchanging but also that money they had was enough to feed the family and have savings for the future. These factors made their life secure and they were confident about the future. In contrast, my friend who works in a similar factory nowadays is not satisfied with the salary he has and is looking for a new and more qualified job. If he had lived a few decades ago he would have been satisfied with the type of work he has now.

Furthermore, with less competition in the past, it was easier to start a new business and to succeed there, which brings a steady income and secure life in the future. Moreover, in our days a person who wants to start a company should compete with a vast amount of similar companies which is more arduous. For example, when my grandparents were adolescents they started to make shoes in their town. On the one hand, when they begin to sell the shoes in the town there were no other stores for shoes and because of this, they succeeded. On the other hand, if the person would try to open shoes store in our days one should compete with other shops in that area which exist in great amount. Without doubt, if the grandparents had started the footwear market now they would have not such a secure and successful life as they have in the past.

In light of the aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe the in the past it was easier to identify what type of job would bring success and a secure life. Not only because the law qualified work would make it possible to have solid income in the past but also that the competition was not as severe as nowadays.