School teachers have found that this year more and more students copy homework from others, which one of the following choices is the best way to reduce this phenomenon?

1. parents should supervise their children's study and homework and sigh their names to prove that their children do not cheat.

2. teachers should punish those children who copy homework from others.

3. teachers should assign homework that cannot be easily copied

In this day and age, not only adults are under enormous pressure, but also students of all ages due to the rapid pace of the society. Recently, the issue of students copying others’ homework has become a hot-debated one, with the majority of people holds that it can be solved by teachers punishing them. However, others thinks that punishment is not plausible at all. Personally, I am a support of the former opinion for the following reasons.

First and foremost, punishing is the most effective and impressive way for teachers handling with some coping phenomenon. As is known to all, one is hardly to remember something deeply in ease and peace. Everyone makes mistakes from time to time, including students. Only through implementing punishment can they truly realize their faults. For instance, when I was in high school, my English teacher asked my desk mate Jack to copy three long reading passages by hand since he was found copying others’ homework. As a result, Jack did not do that again as he knew the bad feeling of being punished.

Another point worth mentioning is that students who dislike doing homework on their own can actually learn to be independent and efficient in study after being punished. To state it more precisely, they are likely to copy someone else’s homework suggests that they have hard time struggling with the knowledge learned form school. Therefore, once the teacher punish them, they will understand that listening to the teacher carefully in class is of great importance, since they would not have so many problems after class. In the end, they can finish all the assignments and homework by themselves, instead of copying others’.

Admittedly, having parents overseeing kids’ study is a pragmatic solution as well. Nevertheless, considering the amount of time tired and stressful parents will have to spend on watching them after a whole day’s work, they are well-advised not to take this time-consuming approach when it comes to copying problem.

To put it into a nut shell, a teacher should punish students immediately after finding them copy homework, not too stringent for sure, as it can leave a deep impression on them and thus curb it from happening again as well as develop their independency and boost their study efficiency in class.