Schools have always offered students three types of after-school activities. But due to recent limited budgets, they can only support one kind of activities. Which one would you choose?

1. Sports 2. Arts 3. Volunteering

While art activities may shed light on culture and history and sports may teach us a lesson about teamwork; in my viewpoint, what volunteering job can benefit us outweighs the other two activities in terms of the environmental awareness and social skill build up.

It is true that by doing art activities one can foster its knowledge related to art history and culture. Such as seeing Van Goh’s self-portrait, learning the background of the artwork, reading art history book, acknowledging the changes in art styles over time. However, these similar subjects are also taught in the class. What is not being taught is to know our society, community, and environment in person, which can be achieved by attending a volunteering job. Mostly, volunteering jobs focus on the social or environmental issue. By attending non-profit organization to clean the beaches and streets, one can realize that how those waste that we produce in our daily life can seriously harm our environment. Taking care of homeless or elders who live alone, people get to know the social issue is existing in our neighborhood, not just a textbook title.

Moreover, unlike sports activities, which usually is played by a group of people from similar age and background, volunteering jobs mostly gather people from all kinds of background. Although sports allow ones to learn teamwork and share the same interest, it is still confined within certain background without real help on our future life in society. In contrast, the volunteering job provides us a chance to know people from different ages and backgrounds. By interacting with them, we can build up different social skill for a different group of people. For instance, talking with elders we need to speak slower and explain our idea in a way they can understand; chatting with peers we can be more casual, interacting with experienced business people we need to adjust our speaking tone and vocabularies.

Given the advantages of attending volunteering job – understand our environment and society and have social skill lesson – it is indeed wiser to support volunteering activities that can truly nourish our knowledge related to the world.