SHOULD CHILDREN GROW UP IN CITY OR COUNTRYSIDE?

The environment in which a child is brought up will tell us the personality and the interpersonal skills the child might possess as he or she grows up. This leads us to the argument, “ Countryside or City, which environment will be best suited for the child to grow up in?”. I am inclined to believe that the City is the best suited environment for a child to grow up in. There are two reasons for my belief, and let us discuss the same in the following paragraphs.

I believe that the city is a better suited place for a child to grow up since the city has better opportunities to nurture a child. The city has better opportunities since the city is where most of the administrative work takes place. Thus, a city has more direct association with the central body of government. Consequently, the city has a better education system, technological advancement and health and sanitation facilities. All the factors will directly help in nurturing a child into a well adjusted adult. In my personal experience I have seen children from the city are much more knowledgeable and well-mannered than the children from the countryside. They also lack basic foundational knowledge in studies. This is because countryside schools do not take the extra effort in making sure whether the child had actually understood their lesson. Countryside children, also, are at higher chances of falling ill due to comparatively poor health and sanitation facilities.

Similarly, the city is abundantly diverse and in such cases, the child has a better opportunity to communicate and acclimate himself or herself with people from other backgrounds. Therefore, helping the children have better interpersonal skills and also making them open-minded. From my experience, children from the countryside are more sheltered and close minded than city kids, thus they have a difficult time trying to understand complex social constructs and communicate better.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that the city is a better place for a child to grow up in. This is because the city has an abundance of opportunities, better living standards and better diversity.