Television advertising directed to children (age 2 to 5) should not be allowed

I, personally, would like to agree with the statement that television advertisements should not be directed toward young children. I believe this is true because young children (from age 2 to age 5) at such an impressionable age might not be equipped with the knowledge to understand if the product they are being advertised with is worth buying or not. Let us discuss the same in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, Children are easily attracted to products that are advertised with colourful visuals and lively music. Consequently, They are easily attracted to the products in the advertisements that consist of such attributes, even if it is an underwhelming product. Let us look at an example, Breakfast cereal advertisements (like Kellogs chocos) directed towards children are colourful in visuals, have cartoon characters appealing to children and have fun music. Consequently, young children are attracted to these products, even if the product is not a healthy breakfast option.

Secondly, Children at these impressionable ages can easily feel connected to the ideas and characters in these advertisements. As a result, imitating the same ideas and behaviour in real life. My personal experience is a perfect example for this issue. My niece once saw an advertisement where a child refused to eat her breakfast until she could drink Horlicks. My cousin, trying to imitate the child from the advertisement, rebelled against her mother when she was asked to eat her breakfast.

Furthermore, Children do not have a developed knowledge of the rights and duties of being a consumer. They will not be able to differentiate the products based on their efficiency or value, but simply based on the appeal of the product. For instance, when I was a child I wanted to eat Maggi noodles every day, after seeing the advertisements in between the cartoons. This was not an informed decision, since I did not understand the good and bad aspects of the product.

Thus, I would like to conclude by stating that television advertisements should not be directed toward young children due to their impressionable age and their inability to make informed decisions as a consumer.