should parents check their childrem text messages

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects when it comes to parents reading their children's text messages. If it were up to me, I would say they should check messages only if a child is the age of 12 or below. I would explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, if children are 12 years old or younger, there are many things they do not understand or they are in a way ignorant of the danger online. We have all seen the awful things that can happen to a child that is on the internet. With a parents’ supervision, kids can be safe from things like cyberbullying or predators trying to hurt them. Drawing from my own experience, I had a friend who was bullied via text message; her mom never knew about this, and my friend was ashamed about it so she never told her. One day her mom accidentally looked at my friend's phone and that was how she found out. As a result, my friend's mom talked to the principal and everything got better. For this reason, I think parents should check their children's text messages.

Secondly, I think it is a good way to see what type of friend a child has, if they are respectful, not calling each other names, or if they talk to strangers. They can be making fun of someone, thinking it is just a text and nobody will see this, or ‘’I can call this person a really ugly name, it is just a number, they will not know it is me’’. They can start talking with a stranger, and they do not know that could be very dangerous and could cause an awful amount of trouble. If parents start to check text messages, all of these things would not happen, no one would be hurt or be made fun of.

In light of the reasons I have mentioned, I strongly believe that parents should check their children's phones to keep them and others safe from cyberbullying and people who are up to no good.