Should parents physically punish their children?

With the development of society, most children can learn bad things, ranging from online games to violence on TV. There is some argument about whether parents should physically punish their kids. From my point of view, parents should not apply punishment to their kids for three unexpected reasons: destroying child-parent relationships, learning through parental modeling, and being injured.

First of all, when parents apply punishment to children, it may destroy family relationships. It is not difficult to understand that children find it very hard to love someone who usually hits and punishes them, especially the parents who gave birth to them. Moreover, they will be scared of sharing with loved ones. As a result, when they become adults, they will have many symptoms related to mental health problems. It cannot be denied that punishing children will result in some bad things.

Second, children can imitate through parental modeling. Parents who use physical discipline may be teaching their adolescents to resolve conflicts with people around them with physical aggression. For instance, when children go to school, perhaps they can easily conflict with their friends. Those who are victims of domestic violence will certainly use physical actions to handle this problem instead of making excuses. As can be seen, living in a violent family is a toxic environment for kids to become good people in the future.

Last but not least, parents do not know how to apply the right methods of punishment to children, which may cause some potential physical health problems. It is apparent that most parents want their kids to take good actions, but their kids do not understand their wrong behaviors. Therefore, in some unexpected cases, children can be physically harmed by the disciplinary measures of their parents, such as scars and scratches on their bodies. As a result, they will be self-deprecating, shy, and even find it difficult to find real love in the future.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that parents should not apply physical punishment to their children to have no unexpected cases of damage to family relationships, study bad actions from parents, and harm to the child’s body.