Some adults believe that nowadays children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5-10 behave better ( for example by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward others). Which one action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

– limiting the types of television programs and movies their children can watch.

– spending more time talking with their children.

– supervising or monitoring more closely what their children do when they play with their friends.

Since the creation of man, people have been trying to train their children as well as they could. Today, most people wonder whether what is the best action that parents can do to help children ages 5-10 behave better. In my opinion, spending more time talking with them would be a better approach because unlike two other choices it doesn’t hurt children's freedom; thus, it would be more efficient. Moreover, they will learn how to act well from you. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, not affecting children’s freedom at all, spending more time talking with children would be more effective. Indeed, every human especially children may guard against something that limits their freedom; thus, the other options may negatively affect them. On the contrary, you can get a good result by talking with them in kindly words. For example, when I was 8 years old, I had an extremely impolite friend talking in an insulting way; thereby, others could hardly tolerate him. Indeed, he was punished a lot because of his bad behavior. His parents had been trying several methods, including limiting his friendships and tv programs that he was allowed to watch, to teach him how to behave well before they talked to a children counselor. He told them that children tend to oppose these kinds of actions; Indeed, he advised them to spend more time talking with him warmly and try to become more close to him. Surprisingly, after a couple of months, this plan helped him to change his behavior gradually.

Second, by spending more time with kids, there is more chance for them to learn how to behave well from you. According to a Japanese idiom, should want you to teach a behavior to your child, you must first behave in that way and they will learn themselves step by step. Therefore, by spending more time with children you give them more chances to analyze your behavior and learn them from you. For instance, when I was a child my parents talked with me a lot and explained everything to me. Indeed, when I did a wrong act like lying about something, they tried to talk with me kindly and convince me that it wasn’t a proper action instead of talking aggressively and limiting me. Indeed, in most of our relatives’ opinions, they did a great job by teaching me how to behave with other people well. Hence, if they had not spent time to talk with me, I would have been faced with their wish and never have I been learned to behave well.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that allocating more extra time to children talking with them would a better choice for parents to teach their children how to behave well.