Some companies provide important products or services, but these products or services also lead to damage on the environment. As a consequence, some people claim government should resort to greater penalty, tax, and fine to contain the harm made by these companies, while many others believe there are better solutions. Which do you think is the better way?

Some people think that the government should find others policies to contain the harm made by these companies. However, I think the government sould resort to greater penalty, tax and fine to limit the harm from these firms. Accordingly, I strongly agree with the statement for the following reasons.

First of all, to contain the harm for environment, the government cares about influence, and enforcing the greater penalty can give companies more influence on protecting the environment. For example, when the famous company, TSMC, created the new wafer that might have negative impact on the surrounding rivers, the government made a severe rule that limit the number of wafer every year. Moreover, if TSMC produced the number of wafers more than number in regulation, the manager would be put in jail for at least 3 years. As a result, TSMC always fellow the strict rule and never broke it. However, if the goveronment never punished TSMC by law, TSMC might harm the surrounding rivers continuously. What’s more, more people might get sick because of contaminated rivers. Obviously, strict punishment for these companies is really important to environment.

Last but not least, to limit the harm for environment, the official places emphasis on money, and taxing and fining more from companies that harm the environment can help the official earn more money. For instance, if the official starts to tax companies due to releasing harmful chemicals into environment in Taiwan, the official can more than 50 million out of a year. Furthermore, the official could also obtain extra money by fining a company which does not follow the law to produce environmentlly friendly products. As a consequence, the official can use these money to improve the environment by others approaches such as planting more trees and constructing the public transportation. Yet, if the official never taxes from companies, the official would have no money to do others thing for environment. In addition, these companies might start to release harmful chemical without fine. Apparently, taxing from corporations is helpful for the government to maintain the environment.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should resort to greater penalty, tax, and fine to contain the harm to evnvironment by these companies. After all, the government focuses on influence and money.