Some parents enjoy giving their children weekly spending money for example they may give their primary or middle school child a small amount of money each week to spend on whatever the child wants Some people believe that this practice can cause childr

The world has witnessed a considerable change; new technology replaced old clumsy tools, and the economy develops at a speed beyond the average person’s imagination. Nowadays, most people no longer need to be concerned about basic expenses like food or clothes and increasingly pay attention to the education of their children. The debate over whether children should receive weekly spending money from their parents is still fierce. Some suggest that this practice would cause students to abuse this money and cannot help them develop a correct conception of money organization. However, I hold this view differently. I believe that it is positive to give their children weekly spending money.

To begin with, giving children weekly spending money actually help them build up a consciousness of how to spend money rationally, and children aged five to eight are in the golden time to cultivate some quality. Children, isolated in their ivory towers, do not understand the mechanism of the real world. Money, desired by countless people, can serve as a key to providing them with a comprehensive and objective understanding of the real world. By using this weekly spending money, children would understand the regret and helplessness after compulsive shopping and how to accumulate money in order to buy an expensive item, contributing to their development of organizing money, all of which expand their knowledge and broaden their horizons. According to a cohort study conducted by Harvard University, in which they followed two hundred children aged from five to eight years old for fifteen years, the study showed that children who have their own spending money in childhood are more likely to be described as competent by their parents and perform well in money organization than those who do not have.

Admittedly, letting younger children have spending money may have some potential problems. They may easily be attracted by advertisements of junk food on television or social media, which would have an adverse effect on their physical health. They also may use this money to charge for online games or other entertainment since they lack self-control. However, their parents can easily deal with the situations mentioned above. They can ask their children to make a budget or a plan where they want to use money, and their parents can check this budget to supervise their children. Moreover, many games have child lock now, which can be used by parents to prevent their children from abusing money.

In a nutshell, giving children weekly spending money is undoubtedly a wiser choice for the reasons discussed above.